Week Two

Reading this book is making me so angry, and frustrated that I can’t do anything to help Lakshmi’s situation. This book is educating me about gender equality, and why it is such a big problem that faces our society. A character in the book I really like is Shahanna. She shows great strength, and is so kind towards Lakshmi, and does all she can to help her out. The first time she was mentioned in the book, I could immediately tell she had been at ‘Happiness House’ for a lot longer than Lakshmi, and she was getting used to it. As I read about Lakshmi’s beatings and whippings, I wonder how characters like Mumtaz, Lakshmi’s mistress, can live with herself. If I was her, I wouldn’t be able to sleep at night, for putting those young girls through those disgraceful acts. This book is so addictive, and teaches a lot about the real world.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment